What are Hip Flexor muscles? What do they do?

Ever wondered what Hip Flexor Muscles are ?

In this article we will show you what are the hip flexors . It is always good to know about our body muscles and their location to be sure if their proper functioning.


The hip flexor muscles are a group of 7 muscles on each side of the body for a total of 14, that lead to the legs and trunk flexion movement, this muscle group are not technically abdominal muscles , but they facilitate movements during several exercises. . And Their names are the psoas, iliac, sartorius, pectinus, rectus femoris, long adductor and short adductor.

The muscles that make up the hip flexors include:

  • Psoas major
  • iliac
  • femoral rectus
  • Pectineus
  • sartorius

These muscles are illustrated below

Hip flexors

The hip flexors are rather long muscles and, in fact, the sartorius muscle is the longest muscle in the body. This originates from the anterior superior iliac spine and is inserted below the knee in the upper medial tibia. In doing so, it crosses two joints, the hip and the knee, and therefore produces actions in both.

The psoas muscle begins at the top of the lumbar spine and actually begins at the transverse process of the thoracic vertebra 12. It is inserted into the minor trochanter of the femur. In doing so, it crosses the hip joint and is therefore a hip flexor.

Other muscles such as the long adductor and short adductor have more than one function. Since they also pass through the hip joint, they are also considered hip flexors. They also adduct the hip because of its insertion points in the femur.

The flexor muscles of the hip are attached to the hip joint to allow the femur, the upper leg bone, to flex in the region of the pelvis. In simpler terms, the hip flexor muscles allow the knee to stretch. The hip is a large, deep and stable spherical joint, which joins many ligaments, tendons and muscles.


The iliopsoas muscle group consists of two muscles: the psoas muscle and the iliac muscle. These muscles work together to help the hip flex. The psoas muscle connects to the lumbar vertebrae L1 to L5. The other end of the psoas muscle connects with the tendon over the femur bone. The lumbar plexus, a set of nerves that originates in the center of the spine, supplies the psoas with nerves. The iliac muscle connects to the iliac bone, the largest bone of the pelvis, at the top and runs under the psoas to the same tendons of the femur bone as this muscle. The nerves of the iliac muscle are supplied by the femoral nerve, which is located in the leg.


The upper sartorius muscle attaches to the anterior superior iliac crest. Anterior is the part towards the front of the body, the top is towards the head and the iliac crest is the upper edge of the ilion. The muscle crosses the upper leg to attach to the tibia, also known as the shin bone. The femoral nerve innervates the sartorius muscle with nerves. The sartorius muscle helps flexion of the knee and hip and rotation of the thigh and tibia.

Femoral rectus

The rectus femoris is one of the four muscles of the quadriceps, which is the muscle group of the anterior thigh. The rectus femoris attaches to the lower anterior part, the part towards the feet, portion of the iliac crest and runs to the base of the patella, also known as the knee. The femoral nerve supplies nerves. This is the only muscle that crosses the hip joint, allowing it to function as a hip flexor and extensor knee muscle.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *